top of page

Manly Salad

Updated: Sep 27, 2019

AKA my take on the traditional cobb salad recipe.



When I met my now-husband, he wasn’t sure how my whole low-carb way of eating was going to jive with his Italian sensibilities. To this day, I have still not made him garlic bread.


I started eating a salad Every. Single. Day. for lunch when my daughter was about two months old because I needed something a) quick n’ easy and b) healthy. My husband is not what I would call a natural eater of things green and vegetabley, but he started trying my salads on the weekends and eventually started requesting that I make them for him as well. His favorite is this cobb-style salad because it contains a little bit of lettuce and a whole lot of other things he likes, like bacon and blue cheese. (And if you don’t like blue cheese, you can substitute with something milder, like goat cheese, or fresh parmesan).


Here's what I put in my Manly Salad (serves 1-2):


· Chopped romaine lettuce (I use the pre-chopped bags from Trader Joe’s for convenience)

· Crumbled bacon (bake a big ol’ batch at 400 degrees on foiled pan for 15-20 minutes or until crispy and store in a Ziploc for the month. Crumble on food as needed)


· (1) Chopped cucumber


· A Few cherry tomatoes, sliced halfways


· (1) Cubed avocado


· (1) sliced hardboiled egg (boil a batch of these at the beginning of the week to have on hand)


· A handful of blue cheese crumbles (can buy pre-crumbled or from a wedge. I like the wedges from Trader Joe’s)


· ½ cup (about a handful) of shredded chicken (yep, you guessed it—make a batch of shredded chicken in the crock pot at the beginning of the week to have on hand. It is so easy to whip up literally anything with some shredded chicken and little imagination)


· Homemade Blue Cheese Dressing (mix together a few blue cheese crumbles and some un-whipped heavy whipping cream in a mason jar and microwave for 15-25 seconds, then shake and pour over salad. Store any extra in the fridge).




And there it is, folks! Happy eating!

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page